The white ones are lava

February 1, 2009

I had a lot of idiosyncrasies when I was a child. I believe childhood actually lends itself to them. I mean how many of us have skipped around the grocery store avoiding cracks to keep our mothers safe from harm or only stood on the brown squares because the white ones are death traps of fiery magma. A child’s imagination is a constant flow of neurotic thought followed by an illogical physical response, in hopes of avoiding such a fate.

These idiosyncrasies reared their head in every area of my formidable years including meals. To this day my favorite thing about mashed potatoes is the gravy lagoon contained inside its starchy valley, which eventually overflows and kills the villagers (corn) down below. Of course, I don’t like gravy so instead I watch Alex’s plate like a hawk until the inevitable destruction happens. Then, the four year old inside of me laughs with maniacal glee.

Waffles also come with their own irrational rule. I had to fill each individual square with syrup to the top of the depression and then, stop the sugary flow so as not to taint the containment wall until I reached the next golden hole. This process continued with impeccable precision until all the holes (including the triangles ones on the side) received their sugary deposit. I would have been brilliant on an assembly line. After completing this methodical process, I would then break the sections apart and stack them as high as I feasible could, pretty much destroying all of my painstaking work from before. My reasoning: they were more fun to eat this way; sounds completely reasonable to my 7 year old self.

Most of these ticks have been abandoned for more convenient, logical, and rational thought. However, this “maturing” also makes life a little more mundane, rigid and ordinary. So this morning, I chose to eat my waffles this way and later in the car, I will try to control the traffic lights with my mind.

Note: Alex apparently cannot relate with this entry. So two theories can be made:

1.      Boys are different than girls and did not do any of these things

Or

2.   Alex is a robot sent here to eventually destroy me. I will be doing research on this and will report back later.

Buttermilk Wafflesimg_0064a

Comes from the Domestic Diva Martha Stewart

The waffles were perfectly golden and crispy. You can taste the cinnamon in the waffles and it gives them a depth of flavor. Alex rates them an 8 and I am refraining from rating because it would not be fair to the waffles. I am getting over being sick and cannot taste flavors. But, they sure looked good.

Ingredients

Serves 4 to 6

  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) melted unsalted butter, plus more for waffle iron
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 large eggs, separated, room temperature
  • 2 cups buttermilk, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Grease waffle iron with a small amount of melted butter, and heat. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together egg yolks, buttermilk, melted butter, and vanilla. Pour into dry mixture, and combine.
  3. In a medium bowl, beat egg whites until stiff but not dry. Fold whites into batter.
  4. Ladle about 1/3 cup batter onto each section of the waffle grid; spread batter almost to the edges. Close lid, and bake 3 to 5 minutes, until no steam emerges from waffle iron.
  5. Transfer cooked waffles to a baking sheet; place in an oven set to low heat, about 200 degrees, while using remaining batter.
img_0003a

The worst part about waffle making

7 Responses to “The white ones are lava”

  1. Tarah said

    Mmm, can’t go wrong with waffles :]
    Looks like a beautiful breakfast.

  2. vana said

    What is buttermilk?

  3. joelen said

    That stack of waffles looks so good… especially that shot of maple syrup just dripping away!

  4. Donna said

    Oh soo yummy. I love the photo you got. I have to try and make them!!

  5. pinnythewu said

    I’m glad I wasn’t the only neurotic child, your waffles look delicous!

  6. Kevin said

    That leaning tower of waffles looks really good. Nice shot!

  7. Michelle said

    I love waffles and these looks so good! Cinnamon in a waffle.. who would have thought!

Leave a Reply

