It’s not me… It’s the sickness

January 27, 2009

I am normally a delightful person. Some adjectives I have heard that describe me are charismatic, loveable, kind, funny, or an example from which all other humans should live. However, I will admit that there are certain microscopes under which I am studied, that I do not come out looking so lovely. One of those lenses would be when I become a victim of the common cold, the flu, or any other illness with the potential to cripple me.

I am not a nice sick person nor am I a mean sick person that sleeps when she is sick. No, I am a bored, whiney, bow to my every whim, don’t want to take medicine, I can’t believe you made me cry sick person. I am always surprised that I still have a husband after the snot departs, the medicine fog dissipates, and the what did I do to deserve this feeling goes away. And even though I might physically being feeling better, my guilt over my behavior is another story.

For example during my last bout with the flu, Alex was preparing my shot of Nyquil in the hopes that the monster would drift off into slumber.  The monster had other ideas though. I roared and thrashed in the bed when attempting to turn over and knocked the bottle right out of his hands. I knocked the full Cherry Nyquil bottle from his apparently weak grip onto him, myself, and our brand new white down comforter. Then, I promptly blamed him, began to cry, and fell asleep.  I am quite the catch I tell you.

So today, I prayed to the laundry gods,  bleached the duvet cover and set out to make it up somehow. The easiest way to do this: food. I made Jambalaya for my doctor and it worked. Somehow I am forgiven, I think it helps that I am cute and Alex realizes that monster only comes out once… three… maybe five times a year.

Everything Jambalayajambayla-017a

A Rachel Ray recipe

Alex rates this recipe an 8 because he has had real jambalaya with rue and this is not that. I rate it a 9 because I love the spice and flavor in this dish. My only issue is all the prep work (chopping) it requires. Definitely not a 30 minute meal; well maybe if I had a fully staffed prep kitchen it would be.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups enriched white rice
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, once around the pan
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless white or dark meat chicken (I used boneless white)
  • 3/4 pound andouille, casing removed and diced
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 ribs celery, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 bay leaf, fresh or dried
  • Several drops hot sauce or 2 pinches cayenne pepper
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons (a handful) all-purpose flour
  • 1 (14-ounce) can diced tomatoes in juice
  • 1(14-ounce) can or paper container chicken stock or broth
  • 1 teaspoon (1/3 palmful) cumin
  • 1 rounded teaspoon (1/2 palmful) dark chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon (1/3 palmful) poultry seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 pound medium shrimp, raw, deveined and peeled (ask for easy peel at fish counter) (I normally leave it out to make the dish cheaper; I have made it both ways and don’t miss the shrimp at all)
  • Coarse salt and black pepper
  • Chopped scallions, for garnish
  • Fresh thyme, chopped for garnish (Did not use)

Directions

Cook rice to package directions.

Place a large, deep skillet over medium high heat. Add oil and butter to the pan. Cube chicken and place in hot oil and butter. Brown chicken 3 minutes, add sausage, and cook 2 minutes more. Add onion, celery, pepper, bay, and cayenne.

Saute vegetables 5 minutes, sprinkle flour over the pan and cook 1 or 2 minutes more. Stir in tomatoes and broth and season with cumin, chili, poultry seasoning, and Worcestershire. Bring liquids to a boil and add shrimp.

Simmer shrimp 5 minutes until pink and firm. Remove the pot from the heat and place on a trivet. Ladle jambalaya into shallow bowls. Using an ice cream scoop, place a scoop of rice on to the center of the bowlfuls of jambalaya. Sprinkle dishes with salt, pepper, chopped scallions, and thyme leaves.jambayla-004a

4 Responses to “It’s not me… It’s the sickness”

  1. Maryanna said

    This looks really good.

  2. Aw…I’m not always a very nice person when I’m sick either. I think it happens to all of us! Your jambalaya looks great!

  3. joelen said

    Now that is a meal – yum!! I love how comforting it looks, especially in this horrid winter cold…

  4. themilkmanswife said

    YUM! Looks so good!! I’m just like you, I’m a big baby when I get sick…this looks like the perfect sick meal.

    I nominated you for a blog award! Check out my blog for details! 🙂

Leave a Reply

