Hide and Seek

January 6, 2009

My blog might self destruct with all the posting I have been doing lately, but for the sake of my audience I shall persevere without a second thought to my safety.

For most of my life, I have been a sneaky hider of food. Much like a pirate burying their treasure across the Caribbean, I would hide tasty morsels throughout the house. When I was little, this was not because I was afraid the food would disappear but more because I was not supposed to have it. Of course, I would always hide the food in my clothes and then laundry day went very badly for me.

In my teenage years, my food hiding turned into Coca Cola hiding because my father decreed that I could not consume sugary caffeinated soft drinks under his roof and I had already become addicted. Unlike the cynical chef of younger years, I now had my own money and my own bedroom, which had the ultimate insurance of privacy: a keep out sign. Turns out, the sign doesn’t really keep people out and I would be subjected to watching my father pour my beloved and self-purchased soda down the drain. My sister used to like to tell people her sister had a coke problem. My mother was not so amused.

Then, I got one of those live in boyfriends who later turned in my beloved husband and I realized my food hiding skill was the only way I could enjoy baked goods in this house. My first attempt went awry when I hid my famous chocolate chip cookies in the cookie jar. I thought I was cunning. I thought I was sneaky. I thought surely a boy would not assume there are cookies in the jar when there is a plate of fresh cookies available. I was wrong and I was also a sad little girl without a cookie.

But, do not feel sorry for me, I have since mastered this art of food hiding. I learned that things kept in the vegetable drawer have no interest to Alex. And even though they might be a little chilly, they are all mine.

On a semi- unrelated note: My favorite food pirate joke

What’s a pirate’s favorite fast food restaurant?

ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRby’s

My Famous Chocolate Chip Cookies (They taste just like the Double Tree Ones)cookies-013a

Original Recipe can be found here

1/2 cup rolled oats
2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1-1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1-1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. lemon juice
2 eggs
3 cups semi-sweet, chocolate chips
1-1/2 cups chopped walnuts

Directions:

chocolate-chip-cookies-013a

Oats All Ground Up

Grind oats in a food processor or blender until fine. Combine the ground oats with the flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a medium bowl.

Cream together the butter, sugars, vanilla, and lemon juice in another medium bowl with an electric mixer. Add the eggs and mix until smooth. Stir the dry mixture into the wet mixture and blend well. Add the chocolate chips and nuts to the dough and mix by hand until ingredients are well blended.

For the best results, chill the dough overnight in the refrigerator before baking the cookies.

Spoon rounded 1/4 cup portions onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Place the scoops about 2 inches apart. Bake in a 350°F oven for 16-18 minutes or until cookies are light brown and soft in the middle. Store in a sealed container when cool to keep soft. Makes 20 cookies

Note: There are occasions I have to cook the dough longer than 16-18 minutes. But, you want to err on the side of caution. I take these cookies out when they are not done and let them finish on the pan. The cookies are golden but the insides still a little gooey. This will create a dense cookie with a soft, chocolatey center. It took a few years to get the timing right.

Chill the dough. It makes a world of difference and be prepared to make this cookies all the time. I wouldn’t make any substitutions or leave anything out; it changes the whole cookie. Trust me.chocolate-chip-cookies-019a

I have also scooped the balls of dough and frozen them for up to a month. We made 6 batches for our wedding as their favor. They got bakery bags and a little carton of milk. Huge Hit!!chocolate-chip-cookies-a

7 Responses to “Hide and Seek”

  1. fingers80 said

    I love chocolate chip cookies with oats in them, but I’ve never tried to make them! Yum.
    ~bensbaby116

  2. joelen said

    I love using this Neiman Marcus cookie recipe that also calls of ground oatmeal – it really adds a nice nutty flavor!

  3. Kira said

    I love the cookies at the Doubletree, but I REALLY need to not make any sweets right now. I’ll save this for later though!

  4. Jessica said

    I have to tell you I just joined the blogging world about a month ago and your blogs always make me laugh. You are so witty! I claim to be witty in real life…but it does not transfer to blog world very well. So I really like bouncing over here and reading your new blogs!

  5. thecynicalchef said

    Thank you very much. That means alot. It is nice to know that someone is out there enjoying my rambling 🙂 I promise the food is good too.

  6. Donna said

    These cookies sound wonderful. Ive never tried lemon juice in a chocolate chip cookie. They look so loaded with chips, I must try them!

  7. Husband of the Cynical Chef said

    She lies… She lies… She lies…

    These do not taste like the Double Tree Cookies… These are way WAAAAAAAY better than the Double Tree Cookies. Trust me, I’ve had both, and these are better. We’ve made them for my coworkers (all of whom have stayed at a Double Tree and had their cookies) near the holidays and they rant about them often, and one of them asked me in SEPTEMBER if we were making them again this year- I thought about telling her they were available here… but then what fun is that?

    Thank you everyone for reading my wife’s blog, I know it really makes her happy to be able to pass along her gifts of writing and cooking to others. And I enjoy the testing that goes on before things make it up here. One more thing- Baby, I love you.

Leave a Reply

