Step 1: Cut a hole in the box

November 16, 2008

Throughout my day, I randomly talk, sing and laugh to myself but mostly sing. No song is out of my vocal range and all of the members of our house love it when I sing. The cats come running to me like the woodland animal scene in Snow White. Their favorite songs are You are My Sunshine and I Will Always Love You from the Bodyguard. No matter what my husband tells you, they all love my off key vocals and mis-timed cadence. And their favorite part is the fact that I belt out every song in my musical memory.

Yesterday was such an occasion. My song of choice was from and SNL skit: the Spartans.

Roll Call!!!

Hi my name is Craig

I give great hugs

You are not my friend

If you do drugs

Accompanying the music demonstration was the clapping and body gesturing of Will Ferrel’s famous cheerleader. This caused a discussion between Alex and I about the validity of my show. He claimed that he had never seen such a skit and I most certainly had to prove him wrong and off to YouTube we went.

Unfortunately, we were not able to find the skit I speak of (we found many other Spartan skits) but we did find our other favorites. Sean Connery and Celebrity Jeopardy and Justin Timberlake’s Blank in a Box. My sister, who had never seen this tribute to the male anatomy wrapped up for the holidays, dissolved in laughter and  brought it up again during a discussion about the possibility of French Toast for breakfast.

It was then that I decided that we were going to make Egg in a Toast in honor of this skit.

But, we were going to use French Toast bread for a spin. So here are the directions Justin Timberlake style:

Step 1: You cut a hole in that bread

Step 2: You put your egg in that bread

Step 3: You make her eat that bread

Enjoy!egg-in-the-hole-french-toast-059a

International House of Pancakes French Toast

2 eggs

½ cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/8 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons butter

6 slices thick-sliced French bread

1 tablespoon powdered sugar

Pancake Syrup

If you are making egg in a hole French Toast, cut the hole in the bread before you dip in into the French toast batter.

1. Beat the eggs in a large shallow bowl.

2. Add the milk, vanilla, flour, and salt to the eggs. Beat the mixture with a whisk. Be sure all the flour is well combined. – I put the flour in first then the eggs beat them together then add the rest of the milk.

3. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. When the surface is hot, add about a teaspoon of butter.

4. Dip the bread, a slice at a time, into the batter, being sure to coat each side well. Drop the bread onto the hot pan (as many as will fit at one time) and cook for 2 to 3 minutes per side or until the surface is golden brown.

5. If doing egg in the hole, brown both sides then crack the egg in the middle of the hole. Let the egg cook for 2-3 minutes then flip and let cook for 2-3 minutes.egg-in-the-hole-french-toast-041a

6. Repeat with the remaining pieces of bread.

7. Cut each piece of toast in half diagonally. Arrange six halves of the toast on two plates by neatly overlapping the slices. Sprinkle about ½ tablespoon of powdered sugar over the tops of the toast slices on each plate. Serve with butter and syrup on the side. If making egg in a hole, there is no need to cut the slices in half.

egg-in-the-hole-french-toast-013

The recipe gets used alot

Adapted from: Top Secret Restaurant Recipes Todd Wilbur

4 Responses to “Step 1: Cut a hole in the box”

  1. heather said

    mmm. i’ve heard these called so many things. eggs in a basket, toad in a hole… whatever they are, they’re delicious! these look lovely and the pics are beautiful!

  2. You totally cracked me up with this post! 🙂

    Keep Singing

  3. Syd said

    Dude, when I stop laughing, I’m gonna read your recipe. Looks great.

  4. Hmm, a good idea to take the egg in the hole idea into French Toast territory. However, I would object to any use of thick-sliced bread for this. French bread or “Texas” toast – it’s all processed white flour pasty bread. French toast, as far as I know, was invented to use hard, leftover bread, and stale bread makes good French toast. I’ve gone so far as to toast bread before using it to make French Toast. Beyond all that, however, except for bottom-line chain restaurants, no one should ever use the that pap, that library-paste bread. For good sandwiches, or toast, and especially for French Toast, I have always used whole grain breads. And not the crap with nuts and seeds in it either – just whole grain oats, wheat, or even potato bread or English muffin bread. Using that refined white-flour-puffed-up starch does not yield a good texture, ever, and I never eat at restaurants that serve crap like that.

Leave a Reply

