Me and My Empty Plate of Shame

November 10, 2008

There are some dishes that I make that test my virtue as a wife and good person. These dishes also fall in the same category as desserts. Usually the ritual is a some sweet, sugary, satisfying, slice of heaven type goodness is made on the weekend. The target day is Friday night, which gives us the optimum amount of equal time with the goodness. We can pick, share and attempt to consume the small amount of joy that our oven has produced.

Now sometimes, this ritual is moved back because of prior engagements and the baking does not commence until Sunday afternoon. This is where the problem comes in; no matter how much we try it is impossible to finish it in one sitting. We have tried to send some to work and attempted smaller batches (like that is the solution) but the problem still remains: leftovers. And it is a small amount of leftovers, say 4 cookies.

Not a problem you say, just have the four cookies the next day. You get two each, you say. Well, perhaps it is not a problem for you because you get home as the same time as your significant other. I get home about an hour and half before handsome comes walking through the door. And do you know what happens? They call to me; so delectable on the plate. They are longing to be eaten; sad they were tossed aside the night before. So I eat one to calm down their pleas then while writing a blog entry about their rich, buttery, salty, sweet goodness I have two. Then, while starting dinner for my big, strapping, lumberjack of a man, I absent-mindly eat another.

Then the text, phone call or carrier pigeon comes; “Love you. Can’t wait to see you. I hope there are cookies left they were so good.” But, there is not. There is just me, an empty plate, and my shame. It is the cookies fault I tell you. Why did they have to be so good?

Today’s recipe comes from the food altar that is Smitten Kitchensalted-oatmeal-cookies-067a

Be warned: These are great. So good your virtues as a human being will be tested.

Tips: There was a discussion on Smitten Kitchen comments about the amount of butter. 12 or 14 tablespoons; I spilt the difference (13) and the cookies were so good. I cooled the batter for about 20 minutes before baking and stuck it back in the fridge between batches.

Cripsy Salted Oatmeal White Chocolate Cookies
Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated

The original recipe didn’t have white chocolate in it, but it really works wonderfully in here. Even if you’re a dark chocolate fan. Watch out, use the good stuff and this may even convert you.

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon table salt
14 tablespoons (1 3/4 sticks) unsalted butter, slightly softened
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

6 ounces good-quality white chocolate bar, chopped (not “white chocolate” chips; they’re almost always artificial. I am adamant about this.)

1/2 teapoon flaky sea salt (like Maldon or fleur de sel) (for sprinkling on top)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and table salt in a medium bowl.

2. Beat butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Scrape down bowl with rubber spatula, then add egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated. Scrape down bowl again. Add flour mixture gradually and mix until just incorporated and smooth. Gradually add oats and white chocolate and mix until well incorporated.

3. Divide dough into 24 equal portions, each about 2 tablespoons. Roll between palms into balls, then place on lined baking sheets about 2 1/2 inches apart. Using fingertips, gently press down each ball to about ¾-inch thickness.

4. Sprinkle a flake or two of sea salt on each cookiesalted-oatmeal-cookies-088a

5. Bake until cookies are deep golden brown, about 13 to 16 minutes, rotating baking sheet halfway through. Transfer baking sheet to wire rack to cool.

6 Responses to “Me and My Empty Plate of Shame”

  1. Andrew said

    Thank you for mentioning that you flattened the dough balls! I often find that this is absent in cookie recipes, and it bothers me so much because some cookies do not spread and I do not want a cakey cookie because I didn’t know to flatten the dough!!! Great pictures, I will be sure to make this ASAP!

  2. katie said

    These are on the to do list now. But I am sorry to inform you that Trader Joe’s seasonally makes real white chocolate chips. I buy them out every time I see them. So they do exist!

  3. thecynicalchef said

    The real white chocolate instructions came from Deb at Smitten Kitchen. Those are her adaptions. I am sure white chocolate chips exist 🙂 Someone else mentioned that Wal Mart chips are also real white chocolate. But one thing is for sure the cookies will be amazing. Thanks for reading.

  4. Lisa M ~ The evil Twin said

    Your cookies always call to me!! You can blame the empty plate on me…your evil twin needed a cookie which is why you ate them..for me!!
    Your awesome!
    Love ya

  5. Kevin said

    Those cookies look good!

  6. I have seen the white choc chips at Trader Joe’s – I have a bag in front of me as we speak. Those cookies are not going to remain in the realms of cookie fantasy for much longer, let me tell you 🙂

Leave a Reply

