We tend to disagree

February 10, 2009

Alex and I do not necessarily agree on everything. There are more than a few times that we are on opposite sides of the fence.

One of these times was one of our first dates. Looking back, it was quite romantically corny. Alex brought me to a park on campus. He parked next to a moonlight lake and turn the music up really loud. He suavely unbuckled my seat belt and took me out of the car to dance under the stars. Then, he decided that we should gaze up at those stars from the dock of the moonlit lake. The problem: the dock was over the river and through the woods. I voiced my fearful opposition based on the theory of woodland animals and serial killers awaiting our arrival. But, Alex, convinced of the increased romantic levels that were waiting for him on the dock, disagreed and we set out.

I am not brave. I do not pretend to be brave. If a serial killer attacked, I would throw you in front of him in hopes of making my escape successful. I clung to Alex during that five minute walk scanning my surrounding in search of impending doom. Each step was accompanied by a whimper. Every foreign sound warranted a plead to turn back. I was convinced that we were becoming the opening scene to some horrible B-rated horror flick. Alex disagreed.

We maneuvered our way down the dock. It creaked and swayed below our feet thus adding to my sense of security. We stood there for a moment and I began to relax. Then, right as we were getting ready to sit down and gaze up at the non-menacing stars, it happened. The forest shook and something or someone moved through the bushes. I reacted and pushed Alex out of my way and ran down the dock. Heart racing, I turned around frantically looking for my hunky protector. Alex was going to be no help to me though. He was knee deep in water pointing at a raccoon that had just wandered out of the woods. I explained my reasoning for sacrificing him while helping him out of the lake, all the way back to the car, and while I loaded his jeans into the washer. That we were in infinite peril and I reacted convinced he was stronger of the two with more of an opportunity to survive the supposed zombie attacker. Alex disagreed.

Honey Mustard or Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches chicken20sandwich20034a1

Just another thing Alex and I disagree about. If you would like to try the fabulous Honey Mustard goodness like I do, that recipe is first. The stupid barbecue one that Alex enjoys is second. We both rate these sandwiches an 8.5. There is nothing better than this and a good beer to finish off a long work day.

Today’s Recipe is adapted from the brilliant mind of the Pioneer Woman

 Honey Mustard Marinade

½ cup of Dijon Mustard

½ cup of Honey

Juice of ½ lemon

½ teaspoon Paprika

½ teaspoon Salt

 

1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

2. Whisk until smooth.

 

Barbecue Marinade

 ½ cup of your favorite BBQ sauce

½ cup Honey

Juice of ½ lemon

½ teaspoon Paprika

½ teaspoon Salt

Sprinkle of Cayenne and Red Pepper Chili Flake

 

1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

2. Whisk until smooth.

 

Chicken Sandwich

2 Big Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast

3 Strips of Bacon

Your favorite kind of Cheese (I use Sharp Cheddar for Honey Mustard and Pepper Jack for BBQ)

2 Hearty Can Hold Onto a Filling Rolls

Canola Oil

 chicken20sandwich20018a1

1. Rinse the chicken breast and pat them dry.

2. Butterfly the chicken breast and cut down the seam. This will give you two halves of equal width.

3. Place the chicken breast in marinades, cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 1 to 3 hours.

4. When ready to make the sandwiches, fry up some bacon. When finished cooking, reserve ¼ cup of the bacon grease and clean out the skillet.

5. Preheat the oven to 400.

6. Return about a tablespoon of the bacon grease to the skillet along with 1 tablespoon of Canola Oil. Place the pan over medium-high heat.

7. Remove the chicken from the fridge and drain off the extra marinade.

8. Place the chicken in the pan and cook 1 to 1 ½ minute per side until the chicken starts to brown.

9. Remove the chicken from the pan and place on a cooking sheet.

10. Place the cookie sheet in the oven and cook chicken about 10 minutes.  Remove from oven.

11. While the chicken is cooking, prepare your roll. You can toast or untoast and add lettuce, mayo, tomato, onion etc. I like to eat the Honey Mustard with a little honey mustard sauce.

12. Place a few pieces of bacon on top of the chicken and sprinkle generously with cheese.

13. Return the pan to the oven and cook for additional 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted and bubbly. Place the chicken on the prepare roll and enjoy!

 

Honey Mustard Saucechicken20sandwich20007a1

 ¼ cup Mayo

1 ½ tbsp Dijon Mustard

1 ½ tbsp Honey

Splash of White Vinegar

 

1. Combine all ingredients ( taste is very subjective you can add more mustard or honey as needed) and whisk.

7 Responses to “We tend to disagree”

  1. Kira said

    I’m definitely a honey mustard gal myself. Yum!

  2. Joelen said

    that looks like an amazing sandwich! I love honey mustard especially with chicken!

  3. colleen said

    I love BOTH of these flavors, but I tend to like Honey Mustard more ;)

  4. leslie said

    OMG, the PW recipe is to die for, and your adaptations are right up my alley. I’ll have to try them! BTW, I managed to find pepper bacon once and tried it – BIG difference. And I skip the bun to allow myself more bacon. Yeah, like that’s legal.

  5. peabody said

    That’s one good looking sandwich.

  6. pinnythewu said

    You know he was just trying to scare the crap out of you to increase his scoring chances.
    Oh yeah, honey mustard sounds delicious.

  7. Monica said

    This looks really delicious. Definitely getting some good dinner ideas from this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

