New Year’s Day Doughnut Massacre

January 2, 2009

doughnuts1I know that my negligence of this blog, for the month of December, will probably result in my lynching, but I implore you to hear my plea: I was lazy. December was a blur of co-worker goodie baskets, quick bread gift baskets, and our Annual Family Dinner party (which contained many a stories that will be shared later). And while I have pictures to remember it all including pictures of the glorious, mouthwatering, talked about for days food, I just could not bring myself to sit down infront of the computer and share it with you. Instead, I slept. December and the holidays were filled with merriment and joy but mostly sleep.

I do have a post for you today though, to start the year off right. And while you are virtually lynching me, I will try to pacify you with the strife these doughnuts caused.

My family, aka Alex (my husband) and Cindy (my sister), are very supportive of my blog. They think my OCD nature in regards to my pictures and food is “cute” (I hate that word) and are quite proud of their cynical chef. They enjoy reaping the benefits of my labor and are usually quite content with waiting the extra few moments to dive in. Usually.

However, there are some meals like the aforementioned doughnuts, where their calm and appreciative demeanor melts away and they morph into a four year old that has just had their lollipop snatched away.

The promise of fresh yeast dougnuts was made early in the week. Thinking back that might have been where it started; the anticipation was too much. After days of thinking about the doughnuts, they were drooling with glee yesterday morning. Then, they realized that these were yeast doughnuts which meant rising time. It was then I saw the first signs of annoyance. Then, the doughnuts were cut and place on a sheet tray; “Surely, they have to be ready soon”, I saw the words of their thoughts floating above their heads. Nope, time for another rise. This time, I was met with mild irritation.

Then, the precious, airy rings of dough were fried and then cinnamon/sugared and were left to cool on an upside down cooling rack (thanks Alton) and I went to get my camera. I came back to find the little one (my sister) hovering over them. She had a look of maniacal destruction on her face. I stopped dead in my tracks and said “Not yet. I need to get the pretty ones”. She looked at me with crazy in her eyes and goes “Ohhhhh your FOOD BLOG! Too bad”. She then picked up one of those suckers, shoved it into her mouth and laughed with glee.

I am still scarred from this incident. Cindy will tell that I have used creative license on this story but I promise you this is exactly how my mind remembers it. Infact, I am not even sure how many doughnuts this recipe made (I halved it) because by the time I got back with my 3 photography doughnuts, the rest were gone. It was a New Year Day Doughnut Massacre. I think I need to think twice about my livelihood when I choose what to cook from now on.

Raised Doughnuts doughnuts2
Adapted from Betty Crocker’s Old-Fashioned Cookbook and Erin Cooks
Yields approximately 4 dozen doughnuts

5 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt

2 packages active dry yeast
1 3/4 cups very warm milk (120º to 130º)
1/3 cup shortening
2 eggs
Vegetable oil
Sugar

Mix 2 cups of the flour, 1/2 cup sugar, salt and yeast in large bowl. Add milk, shortening and eggs. Beat on low speed 1 minute, scraping bowl frequently. Beat on medium speed 1 minute, scraping bowl frequently. Stir in remaining flour until smooth. Cover and let rise in warm place 50 to 60 minutes or until double. (Dough is ready if indentations remain when touched).

Turn dough onto generously floured surface; roll around lightly to coat with flour. Flatten dough with hands or rolling pin to 1/2-inch thickness. Cut with floured doughnut cutter. Push together scraps and gently knead 2 or 3 times. Flatten dough to 1/2-inch thickness; cut with floured 3-inch doughnut cutter. Cover doughnuts and let rise 30 to 40 minutes or until double.

Heat oil (1 1/2 to 2 inches) in Dutch oven to 350º. Slide doughnuts into hot oil with wide spatula. Fry about 1 minute on each side or until golden brown. Remove carefully from oil (do not prick surfaces); drain on paper towels. Roll or shake in sugar. (My note: Or alternatively you can also dip the tops of the doughnuts in glaze. See recipe below).

White Doughnut Glaze
2 cups confectioners sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4-6 tablespoons milk (depending on your desired consistency)

Combine all of the ingredients into a bowl with a fork. If the glaze is too thin, add more confectioner’s sugar. If the glaze is too thick, stir in a little extra milk.

We were having trouble making the inner hole. I had three biscuit cutters and the little one was just to big; so in a momendoughnuts3t of genius, Alex suggested one of my piping tips (the circle part of course) and it worked perfectly.

9 Responses to “New Year’s Day Doughnut Massacre”

  1. joelen said

    Oh boy… I need to make doughnuts! But I’m torn… do I dare indulge one*last*time before I stick with healthy diet choices? Hmmm… decisions, decisions!

  2. Erin said

    Glad you enjoyed my recipe! I’m definitely not surprised that they were gone in moments when you turned your back. They’re absolutely addictive, which is why we make them once every blue moon.

  3. thecynicalchef said

    I am going to be your enabler…Yes!!! They are that good. That is why we did them yesterday for that exact reason. The new year doesn’t start healthywise until 1/5 for us :)

  4. Stephanie said

    those look amazing! I can see why the massacred all of them!

  5. toxobread said

    I’ve been baking with yeast at home, and every time I start kneading dough for a loaf, my family says, “Great! All you have to do now is put it in the oven and we’ll have bread for snack!”
    Then I watch the expression on their faces as I explain bulk fermentation, shaping, the second rise and then a trip to the oven… and of course, followed by a compulsory period of cooling and the photo shoot.
    Definitely no virtual lynching for you; I’ll take some warm doughnuts rolled in sugar instead!

  6. Lisa M ~ The evil Twin said

    Ha ha!!! Your surprised because?? Donughnuts look awesome, for a moment I almost licked the computer screen!!! Just be glad I wasn’t around while they cooled for pics!! Great Job, >:)

  7. […] Raised Doughnuts ~ The Cynical Chef […]

  8. Davor said

    The recipe seams to be very good, and I’ll try it in the weekend, but i need to say that is better that you mix the salt on the end because the microorganisms in the yeast don’t like the salted environment.

  9. Wow I’m in awe. The first photograph looks amazing. The dough is airy, the sugar, everything looks so mouthwatering. Just makes me want to grab it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

