My FluffNutter “Victory”

November 13, 2008

One of Alex’s greatest loves is peanut butter. He could eat it for almost every meal and in almost everything. In complete opposites attract fashion; I really can’t stand the stuff. It is like green eggs and ham.

I do not like it on bread

I do not like it spoon fed.

I do not like it in dessert.

I do not like it there either pervert.

No matter how hard I tried, I could not bring myself to put it in a dish. This inability always made me very sad for my husband (then fiancé) and this sadness played out at last year’s Christmas party. The house was filled with friends for our 3rd annual Christmas Family Dinner. Food was plentiful, Pit (a fantastic card game) was in full swing and the drinks they were a flowing. After a few too many Blueberry beers, my rosy cheeked self decided it was time to run to the grocery store. Enlisting the help of my evil twin, we set out.

I knew exactly what I wanted. I found the bread aisle and went to town. A loaf of the best white bread the store had to offer, the biggest jar of peanut butter I could find, and a vat of Marshmallow fluff. My husband deserved the greatest peanut butter sandwich and he was going to get it. When I got home, I proclaimed my victory and got to work. I thought I had created the best Fluffnutter sandwich in the entire world. I found out later I missed the bread with the marshmallow fluff and peanut buttered all sides of the bread. But, Alex ate that sandwich like it was the greatest peanut butter delicacy he has ever had. And that is why I broke down and today, peanut butter makes it into the menu. Because I really love that man and that man really loves peanut butter.

This is the best recipe I have found dinnerwise when incorporating peanut butter and it is a cooking light recipe. That is what we call a win-win situation.

peanut-flank-steak-019Flank Steak with Hot Peanut Sauce

By keeping the meat serving to a sensible three-ounce cooked portion and using the low-fat but flavorful flank cut, this entrée limits saturated fat while offering plenty of iron and protein. Prepare steamed rice and sautéed baby bok choy while the meat marinates.

Yield

4 servings (serving size: 3 ounces steak and about 1/4 cup sauce)

Ingredients

  • 1/3  cup  chopped green onions
  • 1/3  cup  low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1  tablespoon  brown sugar
  • 1  tablespoon  minced peeled fresh ginger
  • 1  tablespoon  fresh lime juice
  • 2  teaspoons  sesame oil
  • 1  teaspoon  crushed red pepper
  • 2  garlic cloves, minced
  • 1  (1-pound) flank steak, trimmed and cut diagonally into thin slices
  • 1/2  cup  water
  • 1  tablespoon  crunchy peanut butter
  • 1  teaspoon  cornstarch

Preparationpeanut-flank-steak-010

1. Combine first 8 ingredients in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk. Place steak and 1/4 cup onion mixture in a large zip-top plastic bag; seal. Marinate in refrigerator at least 2 hours or overnight, turning bag occasionally.

2. Combine remaining 1/4 cup marinade, 1/2 cup water, peanut butter, and cornstarch in a small saucepan. Bring to a simmer; cook 1 minute, stirring frequently. Remove from heat; keep warm.

3. Remove steak from bag, discarding marinade. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add beef to pan; cook 2 minutes on each side or until desired degree of doneness. Serve with sauce.

7 Responses to “My FluffNutter “Victory””

  1. Lisa M ~ The evil Twin said

    hee hee I helped! I remeber my love for the nutter sandwhich might have helped the need to make the man his sandwhich! And although my love for peanut butter starts at the sandwhich and ends at rese cups, the steak looked freaking amazing!I almost licked the computer!
    Keep it up,
    Love ya honey!

  2. gaga said

    Hmmm, I’ve never thought of putting peanut butter sauce on flank steak, but I guess it’s the same idea as beef satay, which I love. What a great recipe!

  3. cheri said

    Have not tried the recipe yet but got a good laugh! Evil twins comment about almost licking the computer brought tears of laughter to my eyes. thanks. needed a good laugh.

  4. thecynicalchef said

    You welcome. It is part of my purpose to make people laugh and smile. It is good to know that I am accomplishing that.

    I loved that sandwich I tell you :)

  5. saucyitalian said

    How come I didn’t get a cameo about my secret affair with Peter Pan and JIF? Guess its not so secret anymore. Alex and I will have to share new ways of devouring this yummy goodness

  6. Kevin said

    That looks tasty!

  7. Nancy said

    This is great! A keeper for sure. I grilled it on the BBQ instead of pan frying. Would make more marinade so we could have more sauce next time. Yumm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

