How You Doin’

November 2, 2008

Often when I cook I daydream. This practice usually results in burns on my body, food resembling charcoal briquettes, and overflowing cups causing a small monsoon. I am working on reining it in but it is not going anywhere. For instance, today during my pancake adventure, my mind wandered to my favorite (albeit off the air) show Friends. Now, I did not jump right into to any episode; no my mind placed me smack dab in the middle of the pancake argument. I will explain.

In Season 7, Rachel moved in with Joey and learned about a requirement of being Joey’s roommate. When Joey had girls over for, you know How You Doin’, Chandler would let the girl down gently the next morning over freshly made pancakes. He would explain that Joey was a loner and it wasn’t them it was Joey. As I relived this comedically masterful scene in my head, I found myself thinking, Chandler could have saved a lot of time. He should have used the pancakes to tell the girls it was over. No speech necessary; just a syrupy send-off served over warm rich buttermilkly goodness.


I would like to think that when faced with such a breakup message, I would enjoy the fruits of Chandler’s labor, relished in the How You Doin’ from the night before, and continue on my merry way. But then again, I probably would have found a new place for those pancakes to live. I probably would have tucked them into Joey’s bed for Hugsy (Joey’s penguin) to enjoy. But that’s just me.

So today I offer you, the best pancake recipe I have found complete with a breakup message sent with love. You should have seen the look on my husband’s face when I served him his breakfast. Enjoy!

Today’s recipe comes from a site I hold near and dear Smitten Kitchen.

Best Buttermilk Pancakes
Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Original Classics Cookbook

Yield: Martha says this makes 9 6-inch pancakes; I got about 16 4-inch ones, which are more the size I like

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, or slightly less table salt
3 tablespoons sugar
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
3 cups buttermilk
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus 1 tablespoon extra for brushing griddle (I’ve made these pancakes with and without the butter mixed in, and can say with confidence they work either way. They’re just richer with it, of course.)

1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen and thawed (optional)

1. Preheat an electric griddle to 375°F, or place a griddle pan or cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar in a medium bowl. Add the eggs, buttermilk, and 4 tablespoons melted butter, and whisk to combine. The batter should have small to medium lumps.

2. Test the griddle by sprinkling a few drops of water on it. If the water bounces and spatters, the griddle is hot enough. Using a pastry brush, brush the remaining 1/2 teaspoon butter onto the griddle. Wipe off the excess with a folded paper towel.

3. Using a 4-oz. ladle, about 1/2 cup (for a 6-inch pancake), pour the batter in pools 2 inches apart. If you wish to make blueberry pancakes, arrange a handful over the cooking pancake, pressing them in slightly. When the pancakes have bubbles on top and are slightly dry around the edges, about 2 1/2 minutes, flip over. If any batter oozes or blueberries roll out, push them back under with your spatula. Cook until golden on bottom, about 1 minute.

4. Repeat with the remaining batter. You can keep the finished pancakes on a heat-proof plate in the oven at 175°F. Serve warm.

Tips: I use a ratio of 2 ½ cups of buttermilk and ½ cup of 2% milk. I found it keeps the buttermilk twang in check.

To draw shapes/words: Fill a squirt bottle with some of the pancake mixture. Lube up your griddle with butter. Draw your picture or words. Wait 3-5 minutes. This allows the drawing/words to get darker then the rest of the pancake. Then pour the rest of the batter over the drawing/words. When the pancake is ready flip and your drawing/words will transfer.


8 Responses to “How You Doin’”

  1. I’m not sure I would love to be served those pancakes, but they sure look good!

  2. A said

    haha, i love that episode! and i love your ingenious way to efficiently get rid of someone with delicious breakfast treats:)

  3. DocChuck said

    I love good pancakes.

    But since I am married to the most wonderful, most beautiful woman (a young Medical Doctor) on the planet, I cannot imagine being served pancakes in any circumstances other than the MOST pleasant.

    As an example, Dr. E. served Southern style buttermilk pancakes to me this very morning, accompanied by Vermont maple syrup, sausage patties made from fresh-ground bison tenderloin, and poached eggs (Trader Joe’s organic jumbo eggs), with fresh-squeezed orange juice.

    Thank you for reminding me how lucky I am (and as a 66-year old retired Doctor, I need as much luck as I can get) . . . LOL.

  4. thecynicalchef said

    You welcome for the reminder. Every once and while I think everyone needs one. :)

    I tend to quite the prankster and my husband’s surprise this morning was received as such. I mean he hasn’t started packing his bags yet; I don’t think. I should probably go check ;)

  5. Dana said

    Hahaha, great episode. Also, great way to throw the husband a curveball in the morning.

  6. [...] How You Doin’ Often when I cook I daydream. This practice usually results in burns on my body, food resembling charcoal briquettes, [...] [...]

  7. Neither my husband nor myself are medical doctors. He’s a retired “educator” (with 2 PhD’s if that interests you) and I’m a busy head nurse in a correctional facility.

    But I do make great pancakes!

    And I am a looker, if I do say so myself!

  8. saucyitalian said

    Sometimes everything that I want to say as I am kicking someone out of my bed…house…kitchen can’t fit on a pancake….any suggestions. I’d also like to give them a bill for all the time and money I wasted on them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

